My cart

Exploring the Yamas of the Yoga Sutras through Hatha Yoga

5 Sunday sessions

Fees per class: $42
Studio Pass holders: 2 classes
All 5 Sundays: $190
Time and dates: 10.15 am to 11.30 pm (75 min). Feb 14, 21, 28 & Mar 7, 14

Yoga is more than an asana practice – it goes beyond the physical. We invite you to find deeper meaning in your yoga practice with a special 5-week series with Cat Borgstrom.
 Each week, the Hatha classes are themed by one of the yamas from the Yoga Sutras.

The Basic Philosophy of Yoga

The Yamas are the first limb of the ‘Eight Limbs of Yoga‘ originating from the ancient Indian philosophical text, ‘The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali’.
The 5 Yamas are disciplines or practices that are primarily concerned with the world around us, and our interaction with it. The Yamas guide us to connect with the world from an authentic and ethical place, to “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Breaking Down the Yamas

Each week Cat will weave the Yamas into a thoughtful 80-minute Hatha practice that will include meditation, pranayama and time to reflect on each Yama – not just on the mat – but also how to incorporate the Yamas into life off the mat.

Week 1 – Ahimsa (non-violence to all living beings)
Ahimsa can be interpreted as: not physically harming others, ourselves, or nature; not thinking negative thoughts about others or ourselves; and making sure that what we do and how we do it is done in harmony, rather than causing harm.

Week 2 – Satya (truth, essence)
 Satya is truthfulness. The word ‘sat’ translates as ‘true essence’. Our thoughts, emotions and moods are interchangeable, and these are transient personal truths.

Week 3 – Asteya (non-stealing)
Asteya means ‘non-stealing’, but like the other Yamas, it means so much more than that. Asteya arises from the Vritti (thoughts/fluctuations of the mind) – ‘I’m not good enough’ or ‘I don’t have enough’. It arises from the lack of faith in ourselves. We already are enough within ourselves.

Week 4 – Brahmacharya (abstinence)
 Brahmacharya- refers to directing our energy away from external desires and instead, towards finding peace and happiness within ourselves.

Week 5 – Aparigraha – (non-attachment) This important Yama teaches us to take only what we need, keep only what serves us in the moment and to let go when the time is right.

The far-reaching effects of the Yamas

Here is a quote that we find especially relevant for the practitioners of yoga:

Yoga is a practice of transforming and benefitting every aspect of life, not just the 60 minutes spent on a rubber mat; if we can learn to be kind, truthful and use our energy in a worthwhile way, we will not only benefit ourselves with our practice but everything and everyone around us.

— Ekhart Yoga

Please join us on the mat for 5 weeks to learn about the Yamas, and take the first step in the journey towards self-awareness – to discover a sense of acceptance and peace through your practice.